BINTULU, The Election Commission (EC) has issued a total of 73 postal ballot papers to eligible electors, including police personnel for the Jepak state by-election this Nov 4.

EC secretary Datuk Ikmalrudin Ishak said the postal ballot papers were issued by election officers appointed by the Returning Officer yesterday (Oct 23).

Accordingly, no early voting centres will open on Oct 31.

"The postal ballot papers issued consist of 70 Category 1A (election officers and police personnel), one postal ballot paper for Category 1B (Malaysian residing abroad) and two for Category 1C (agencies and organizations)," he said in a statement today.

Ikmalrudin said the process of issuing the postal ballot papers was carried out in the presence of postal ballot agents from all the contesting candidates.

He reminded all postal voters to mark the ballot paper, fill in the Identity Declaration form (Form 2) completely and correctly, and immediately return them to the Returning Officer concerned before 5 pm on Nov 4, which is polling day.

“Voters are also reminded to always keep their votes confidential by not taking photos of the postal ballot papers and spreading them on social media sites,” he said.

The Jepak by-election involves a three-cornered fight between Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) candidate Iskandar Turkee, Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) candidate Stevenson Joseph Sumbang and Chieng Lea PhingSarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi).

The by-election is being held following the death of the GPS incumbent Datuk Talib Zulpilip on Sept 15.

Source: BERNAMA News Agency