National Committee Established to Support Migrant Workers at Border Checkpoints

The Royal Government has established a national committee to facilitate the border crossing of Cambodian migrant workers.

Prime Minister Samdech Moha Borvor Thipadei Hun Manet signed a sub-decree recently, outlining the full organisation and functioning of the national committee.

The national committee will assist the Royal Government in monitoring the implementation of measures to eliminate irregularities as well as challenges for Cambodian workers when passing the border checkpoints.

The sub-decree also guides concerned officials to accept and resolve complaints by Cambodian migrant workers effectively and encourages the establishment of a mechanism to address emergency cases.

The national committee consists of one chair (a Deputy Prime Minister), three vice chairs, and nine members.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Presse